Shop for Dallas Cowboys gear at Fanatics.com

Garrett Doesn’t Put Overturned Call As the Reason To Why Dallas Lost

Cowboys coach Jason Garrett said it looked to him like Dez Bryant had made a season-saving catch on his fourth-down grab in the fourth quarter that was later overturned on replay, but his team’s loss to the Packers wasn’t due to officiating, ESPN reports.

Bryant’s leaping, bobbling catch at the Packers 1 on fourth-and-2 was reversed by referee Gene Steratore after Green Bay challenged. Instead of first-and-goal for Dallas, the ball went over to the Packers, who went on to run out the clock on the ensuing drive in the 26-21 victory.

Garrett told Fox Sports after the game that he thought going for it on fourth down “was what we had to do in that situation.”

“It was fourth-and-two, and obviously they ruled it a catch on the field. This game wasn’t about officiating at all. That certainly was a big play in the ballgame. It looked to me like Dez had two feet down and made a move common to the game, which is a thing they talk about a lot.

“We’ve seen him a number of times this year reach out and score touchdowns making that same thing. It seemed like he had the ball at the end of the play as well, so all those things factor into it. But this wasn’t about officiating. We had 60 minutes to prove that we’re the better team, unfortunately we didn’t get it done today,” he said.


Enjoyed this post?
Subscribe to Cowboys Gab via RSS Feed or E-mail and receive daily news updates from us!

Submit to Digg  Stumble This Story  Share on Twitter  Post on Facebook  Post on MySpace  Add to del.icio.us  Bark It Up  Submit to Reddit  Fave on Technorati

One Response to “Garrett Doesn’t Put Overturned Call As the Reason To Why Dallas Lost”

  1. […] Garrett Doesn’t Put Overturned Call As the Reason To Why Dallas Lost Cowboys coach Jason Garrett said it looked to him like Dez Bryant had made a season-saving catch on his fourth-down grab in the fourth quarter that was later overturned on replay, but his team’s loss to the Packers wasn’t due to officiating, ESPN reports. Bryant’s leaping, bobbling catch at the Packers 1 on fourth-and-2 was [&hell… […]

Leave a Reply