Shop for Dallas Cowboys gear at

Cowboys Trim Roster To 53

As the deadline for NFL teams to trim their roster has now come and gone, the Cowboys have released their complete list of cuts to get down to the 53 player limit.  Other than the release of Cletis Gordon, the only other real surprise is the release of defensive tackle Junior Siavi. Siavi had a great preseason and was looked to put a stranglehold on being a backup to Jay Ratliff. The Cowboys opted to go with rookie Josh Brent, a move that will be watched all season.

Here is the complete list of cuts:

Offensive Cuts:
OT Will Barker
OG Travis Bright
RB Herb Donaldson
TE DajLeon Farr
WR Jesse Holley
WR Manny Johnson
RB Lonyae Miller
TE Jason Pociask
TE Martin Rucker
OL Mike Tepper

Defensive Cuts:
DE Marcus Dixon
CB Cletis Gordon
OLB Curtis Johnson
CB Bryan McCann
LB Steve Octavien
DT Jimmy Saddler-McQueen
LB Brandon Sharpe
CB Jamar Wall
CB Teddy Williams

A couple of players who had strong camps but ultimately got caught in the numbers crunch at their position are WR Manny Johnson as well as LB’s Steve Octavien and Brandon Sharpe. I’m sure the Cowboys are hoping to sign these three as well as a few more to the practice squad right away. The chances are slim that Johnson, Octavien and Sharpe will remain. When players put together strong outings other teams usually notice.

We will do a complete introduction to the Cowboys roster tomorrow. But for now here is your roster rundown:

QB: Tony Romo, Jon Kitna, Stephen McGee

RB: Marion Barber, Felix Jones, Tashard Choice

FB: Deon Anderson, Chris Gronkowski

TE: Jason Witten, Martellus Bennett

WR: Miles Austin, Roy Williams, Dez Bryant, Kevin Ogletree, Sam Hurd

OL: Andre Gurode, Leonard Davis, Kyle Kosier, Marc Colombo, Doug Free, Alex Barron, Montrae Holland, Robert Brewster, Sam Young, Phil Costa

NT/DT: Jay Ratliff, Josh Brent

DE: Igor Olshansky, Marcus Spears, Stephen Bowen, Jason Hatcher, Sean Lissemore

OLB: DeMarcus Ware, Anthony Spencer, Victor Butler, Brandon Williams

ILB: Bradie James, Keith Brooking, Sean Lee, Jason Williams, Leon Williams

CB: Mike Jenkins, Terence Newman, Orlando Scandrick

S: Gerald Sensabaugh, Alan Ball, Michael Hamlin, Akwasi Owusu-Ansah, Danny McCray, Barry Church

Special Teams: Mat McBriar, David Buehler, L.P. Ladouceur

What do you think about your 2010 Cowboys?

Enjoyed this post?
Subscribe to Cowboys Gab via RSS Feed or E-mail and receive daily news updates from us!

Submit to Digg  Stumble This Story  Share on Twitter  Post on Facebook  Post on MySpace  Add to  Bark It Up  Submit to Reddit  Fave on Technorati

Leave a Reply